High protein, 55 calorie dark chocolate and raspberry cupcakes

IMG_7859I’ve been looking for high protein snacks that I can grab and go for work. I find vegan protein powders aren’t very appetising, so wanted to make a recipe without any protein powder that was still high in protein and delicious.

So these were born! They’re incredibly moist and airy, full of goodness and taste very indulgent. They’re gluten free, lactose free and low fodmap. Naturally sweetened with banana and some maple syrup.

Let me know if you give it a go – tag me on instagram @learningtolivewithibs, on twitter @amytodd93 or use the hashtag healthywithamy. I’d love to see what you think!

Per serving (I made 11 cupcakes):

55 kcal
Carbs 4.9g Fat 1.6g Protein 3.9g

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 egg
  • 150g banana
  • 20 ml maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder (gluten free if required)
  • 100 ml unsweetened almond milk
  • 30g cocoa powder (I used cadbury bourneville)
  • 30g almond flour
  • 25g oats (made into a flour by using a blender)
  • 50g raspberries

Method:

  • Pre-heat the oven to 180C
  • In one mixing bowl, whisk the egg whites until stiff peaks form.
  • In  another, whisk together the banana, whole egg, maple syrup, vanilla extract, almond milk and baking powder.
  • Add the cocoa powder, oat flour and almond flour and whisk until combined.
  • Using a spatula or wooden spoon, fold the egg whites into the brownie mixture until combined (don’t use a whisk for this part as you want to keep as much air as possible in the brownies).
  • Gently mix the raspberries into the mixture.
  • Spoon the mixture into cupcake cases (silicone work best for these!), or into a lined pan.
  • Cook for around 18 minutes, or until a fork inserted into a cupcake comes out clean.
  • Leave to cool (difficult but resist giving them a go until then!).

These are best kept in an airtight container in the fridge.

And that’s it! They taste so indulgent but are so good for you. Give them a go and let me know what you think! Tag me #healthywithamy on instagram or twitter, I love seeing what you guys think of my recipe.

The combination of flavours in these are endless, I’ve definitely got some more ideas up my sleeve!

6 thoughts on “High protein, 55 calorie dark chocolate and raspberry cupcakes

  1. Hi, I was just wondering if normal gluten free flour would work in these? If so plain flour or self raising? Excited to try them! Thanks x

    Like

Leave a comment